Navratri: 9 days devi names

In India or the rest of the world, wherever people who follow Hindu culture live, Navratri 9 days festival is definitely celebrated there. This festival lasts for nine days. Shakti(Power) is worshipped during these days. Here Shakti means devi( Goddess) Durga. Her nine incarnations are worshipped. That is, one incarnation is worshipped in one day. That Goddess gives all happiness. Her worship removes all sorrows. These days people mainly observe fasts. By doing so, their misfortune turns into good fortune.

navratri 9 days devi names
Goddess Durga

There is a huge crowd in the temples of the goddess during these nine days. Men, women and children all go to see the goddess. These are the days of accumulation of power. Mainly in Hindu dominated areas, there is definitely a temple of Goddess Durga. The joy of visiting the temple these days is also amazing. Everyone will be found worshipping the goddess in their own way. Some dance, some chant the name of the goddess (devi) with a tilak on their forehead. Many people go to the temple to break dry coconuts. These days people buy new clothes, vehicles etc.

Also read- Signs that Lord Shiva is with you

what is navratri?

Mainly in Hindu culture, Navratri has a special religious, mythological and spiritual significance. If seen from the point of view of science, the Earth completes its revolution around the Sun in 1 year.

Also read- Vishnu Brahma and Shiva

When the earth is in its rotation, there are four seasons in that one year. In which there is a risk of increasing physical diseases during the transition of March-April and September-October. Navratri festival is celebrated twice a year during these days. Therefore, Navratri is to keep the body and mind clean and healthy.

Also read- Why do hindus not eat beef

Navratri – 9 days devi names

  1. Shailputri- This is the first form of the Goddess. This form is worshipped on the first day. Its meaning is – daughter of the mountain. She was named Shailputri because she was born in the house of the king of mountains.
  2. Brahmcharini- This form of the Goddess is worshipped on the second day. Her name means ‘one who does penance’. This form of the Goddess gives a message to the devotees that success can be achieved only through hard work.
  3. Chandraghanta- This form of the Goddess is supernatural. This form is worshipped on the third day. Chandraghanta means ‘one who has a bell-shaped half moon on her forehead’. The ego of the person worshipping this form of her is destroyed.
  4. Kushmanda- She was named Kushmanda because she creates the universe with her light, gentle smile. She is considered the goddess of energy. The goddess has eight hands. Worshiping this form fulfills all wishes.
  5. Skandmata- This form of the Goddess is called Skandamata as she is the mother of Skanda, the god of war. This form is worshipped on the fifth day.
  6. Katyayani- This is the sixth form of the Goddess, which means daughter of a sage. This form has to be worshipped on the sixth day.
  7. Kaalratri- On the seventh day, the goddess’s Kalratri form is worshipped. It means the dark night or the night before marriage. Worshipping this form of the goddess frees one from fear and diseases.
  8. Mahagauri- It means extremely fair complexion
  9. Siddhidatri- This is the ninth form of the Goddess. This form is worshipped on the last day of Navratri. Worshipping this form of the Goddess leads to attainment of Siddhi.


Dear reader, this article was about Navratri 9 days devi names. This was a small effort to bring the right information to you. You and your suggestions are important to us. You can send your feedback through comments.

Also read – What do hindus believe happens after death

Leave a Comment